Treasured baby blankets

I was looking through my cedar chest the other day and found some very special baby blankets I had made when my now grown children were babies.  Actually for my first born, I had his crib sheets, bumper pads, bed skirt and baby blanket all complete before he was even born and I did not even know I was expecting a boy.  I just knew Care Bears was a perfect theme!

Now, 25 years later, the blanket on the left is the same blanket as the one pictures above.  It was well loved and is so fragile.  I decided to put that one away for safekeeping and make my son a “travel blanket” with the same fabric, maybe when he was about 2.  Even that one has seen its share of cuddling(and washings) 🙂

For my youngest, I also made a blanket and decided at the time, I would like a nice shade of minty green.    And wouldn’t you know it till this day, his favorite color is green!

I tried to get a close up shot of how threadbare this poor blanket is.   I can actually see the batting right through the top layer of fabric.

I will have to have my daughter send me some photographs of her baby blanket as she took it when she moved away.  I will post at a later date!

Happy Stitching!

This entry was posted in Sewing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Treasured baby blankets

  1. randi says:

    that is a very loved baby blanket. just wonderful!

  2. Stephanie D. says:

    Daughter speaking – actually my original baby blanket didn’t make it. It was loved to shreds. You made me a new one which isn’t in too bad of shape, that’s the one I have. I still remember what the original looked like though 🙂

  3. Pingback: Handmade Baby Blanket | Love It Handmade

  4. Pingback: Another handmade baby blanket | Love It Handmade

Leave a Reply

