Vanilla Cookies

I had a taste for vanilla or butter cookies and went in search on allrecipes.com for one.

HERE is the one I chose.  It’s a pretty simple recipe and I had everything I needed.

When I make a recipe from that site, I am pretty good about following the exact recipe at least the first time.  But today, I changed it up after reading some of the reviews:

  • 1/2 cup butter (no substitutes), softened
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup white sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1 1/3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt

I am a fan of brown sugar over white sugar and decided since it has more of a molasses taste, to go that route, plus a whole cup of sugar seemed like a lot, so I cut back to 3/4 cup.  Also a tablespoon of vanilla seems like a lot to me as well, but after tasting them, my husband said it could use more.  So next time, I will try the tablespoon!

I used about 1 teaspoon for each cookie and rolled it in my palm.  Then once on the pan, I dipped a fork in flour and did a criss-cross pattern like you do for peanut butter cookies.

This entry was posted in Miscellaneous and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

