Tomato Basil Soup

With LOTS of tomatoes still growing in my garden, I needed a quick use for them.  My idea?  Tomato soup.  I used the most abundant tomato now, my yellow cherries.   I also snipped fresh basil leaves from the garden.

I used some of these for roasting as well…that’s another yummy recipe 🙂

Here is my recipe:

8 tomatoes, diced  (For this recipe I pretty much used that whole bowl of cherries, sliced in half.  You may also skin and seed them, neither of which I did.

8 Cups/1 64 oz container of low salt tomato juice

30 or so basil leaves, (cutting the bigger leaves)

4 or 5 cloves of garlic (or less depending on your taste buds)

1 C milk, whichever fat content you desire

1 C 1/2 and 1/2 or heavy whipping cream

(again taking into consideration the fat content you can use ALL heavy whipping cream if you so desire)

1 stick butter

1/4 t pepper

1/2 t salt (or not, depending on how you feel about it)

Place sliced tomatoes, juice, garlic and basil in stockpot over medium heat.  Lower heat to low and simmer for 45 minutes.

When using larger tomatoes, if you desire, you can mash the tomatoes with a potato masher.  I did not for these small babies.

Cut the butter up in smaller slices for faster melting.  Add to soup along with the salt and pepper.  Stir until melted.

Slowly add cream/milk stirring constantly.  Heat just until hot again, do not boil.

Yes it feels like fall and I even have my fall runner on the table!

Happy cooking and stitching!

Jan

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Tomato Basil Soup

  1. ooobop! says:

    Yum! I regret not growing tomatoes this year, though I reaped some goodies from my neighbours garden. Jamie Oliver’s Chocolate tomatoes are win!

Leave a Reply

