Thanksgiving Cactus

A dear friend bought me a Christmas Cactus last December for my birthday as well as a housewarming gift since we just moved into our house.  Of course it was in full bloom and absolutely beautiful.

I took care of it all year long and was expecting to have to do some work in getting to bloom again. Checking online I thought I would have to place in a dark room for 12 hours and bring out to a bright window for the other 12 hours.

Well a few weeks ago, I noticed I started getting some buds and I was glad it did this all on its own, in my kitchen window! That is one smart plant.  Funny how nature with its light limited evenings takes care of things all on its own.

Actually I didn’t expect to get any blooms again, as I don’t have that green of thumb on indoor plants as I do for my outdoor ones. This plant reminds me of my late Mom, as she always had this plant and it ALWAYS bloomed for her!

I am linking to Claudia’s A Favorite Thing at Mockingbird Hill Cottage

This entry was posted in Miscellaneous and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Thanksgiving Cactus

  1. Diane says:

    Wow! How pretty!

  2. Debra says:

    Ever since I have had these they usually bloom July at some point as well as Christmas. This year neither one ( I have two ) bloomed in July…so cross my fingers for Christmas season! 🙂

  3. Tammy says:

    Wow! It’s so beautiful. I don’t think I’ve ever seen one with that many blooms before. Either it was a very healthy plant or there are angels sprinkling it with love. Have a great day! Tammy

  4. Claudia says:

    Oh this struck a chord within me. My mom, who is now in a nursing home, always had a Christmas Cactus and it always bloomed for her. I’m sure my dad now does his best to keep it going. Yours is gorgeous. Perhaps I should try to get one.

    Thanks so much for joining in this week.

    xo
    Claudia

Leave a Reply

