A cookie experiment

I am not a big fan of making cookies, mainly because I tend too eat more than my share of them!  Not a good thing for this aging bod.    So my husband resorts to buying cookies.  The latest is the Keebler Almond Dark Chocolate Chip Sandies.

I came up with the brilliant idea to make a similar tasting one, only better because its homemade!

I have a Candy Cane Cookie recipe from my mom that I have used for years and years, of course to make candy canes at holiday time.  But what I remember about this recipe is that it contains almond extract.  Thus the experiment begins.

photo 2

Here is the recipe, unnamed so far:

1 C butter, softened
1 C powdered sugar
1 egg
1-1/2 t almond extract
1 t vanilla extract
2-1/2 C flour
1 t salt
2 C dark chocolate chips
(you might even try adding some slivered almonds. I wanted to, but had none on hand for this whim)

Blend the butter and sugar well.  Add egg and flavorings, salt and flour.  Add chips.

I use a teaspoon to measure.  (I like to eat more than one cookie and eating 2 small ones makes me feel better, because I know just eating one just will NOT do.)

Bake for 9 minutes(or until slightly browned at edges) in 350 (convection oven) on ungreased cookie sheet.

I also tried 2 different methods of drop cookies:  The first batch, I rolled them into balls. I was hoping they would spread a little more, but as you can see they didn’t. So the next batch I still rolled into balls, but flattened with fork.

photoThe results:  Good cookie.  I think I will add the almonds next time for an extra bite.

And my name?  Hmmm, how about Dark Chocolate Chip Almond Cookies?

Have a good weekend!

Jan

 

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A cookie experiment

  1. I absolutely adore almond extract. It’s my favorite flavor addition, and I love baking biscotti just because they use almond extract! I’ll bet your husband likes your homemade cookies better than the store-bought ones — I certainly would!

  2. Barbara says:

    Looking good. Love making all different kinds of cookies but I put most in the freezer as an insurance against eating them all!

Leave a Reply

