Blueberry tea bread

I made what looks like a yummy tasting bread in honor of my daughter and grandsons visit:P1070710

I have had this recipe in my collection since 1994 apparently.  It was in the August edition of the Good Housekeeping magazine.  I am not really sure if I have ever made it before.

Here is the recipe:

3 cups cake flour*
2 t baking powder
1/2 t salt
1 cup sugar
1/2 cup margarine/butter
1 cup milk
1 T vanilla extract
1 egg
1-1/2 cups blueberries
1 T slivered almonds
1/2 t cinnamon

*I did not have cake flour, so I found instructions online to put 2 T cornstarch in 1 C measuring cup, then fill with flour, and do that for every cup you use.

~Preheat oven to 350.  (I use 325 for my glass loaf pan) Grease the pan.
~In large bowl, mix baking powder, salt, sugar and flour.
~Set aside 1 T of margarine/butter for topping. Cut in the remaining margarine/butter into the flour mixture until tiny crumbs.
Stir in milk, vanilla and egg until flour is just moistened. Gently fold in blueberries and spoon into prepared pan.
~Coarsely chop almonds. In small bowl, with fork, mix almonds, cinnamon and 2 T flour and 2 T sugar. Add in the remaining 1 T marg/butter and mix until resembles course crumbs. Sprinkle crumb topping over batter.
~Bake loaf 1 hour and 20 minutes or until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean. Cool loaf in pan on wire rack for 10 minutes; remove from pan and finish cooling on wire rack.

I served with P1070711

What a nice afternoon treat for a rainy day!

 

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

