New counted cross stitch project

I have 10 months until Christmas to get this done for my soon-to-be-born grandson:
stockingIt’s the Dimensions Gold Collection
called “Snowman & Friends Stocking”
The Aida cloth is white, 18 count and that means there are a whole lot of stitches that go into this project! There are very few white squares that are not filled in; on the ground and snowman portion only.
instructions

I can also say regarding my Cabin Fever Counted Cross Stitch project, that it is COMPLETE!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Except that is for framing. I will post a pic when that is done, but for now, here are the latest updates showing some embellishments:
32

31

30
It’s amazing how a few straight lines can really bring out the detail of the project….love, love, love it 🙂

29

Until next time…..Happy Stitching!
Jan

This entry was posted in Counted Cross Stitch and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to New counted cross stitch project

  1. Jen says:

    HI there!! Love your work! I’ve been working on Dimensions for a long time now and then left them for a while and now I’m back – but I’ve noticed that they’re asking for really thick stitches! I’m not liking it so thick as it’s too hard on my hands… so I was wondering, do you follow the chart exactly as instructed, or do you back off the amount of threads you use. I’m asking because I’m afraid to use less then they are saying incase it comes out bad… but yours looks amazing, so I thought I’d ask.

    Thank you, I look forward to hearing from you !
    Jen

  2. Jen says:

    Sorry, 1 more question: what do you use to stitch? Qsnap, stand and do you have a pic?
    Thanks again!

  3. Hi Jen, Thanks so much for your nice comments. I don’t use the 6 recommended threads, as I thought it was too much. Very hard on our hands, indeed! 5 shows up pretty well, as being bold. There may be an occasional place I would use the 6, but only as a special small highlight, say, if it was in an area of cross stitches.
    Regarding the frame, I use this roll frame pictured here, for bigger projects:
    https://loveithandmade.wordpress.com/2011/01/24/cabin-fever-counted-cross-stitch/
    For smaller projects, I use a bamboo circular ring.

Leave a Reply

