Denim wallet….for myself

Many, many years ago, I had a neat and thin canvas type wallet that had a money compartment and a couple for cards/license.  I have no idea where it went to and I miss it.  I am really tired of carrying around a purse these days, and if I could fit things in my pockets, I would take it.  Otherwise it stays at home.

So, my dilemma?  I needed a better way to cart this stuff around and didn’t care for the ready-made things I found in stores.  Here is what I came up with:

raw materials for wallet

raw materials for wallet

2 denim pieces for the outer layers, 1 small denim piece for the card pockets and 1 cotton piece for the money pocket.  I zig-zagged the top edges of the small piece and cotton piece.  Folded over that edge and pressed.  Then sewed that top edge in place.

folded down top edges

folded down top edges

 

sewed top edges

sewed top edges

Well I neglected to take the next few steps photos.   So, you’ll have to imagine:  I placed the small denim on top the print(both right side up), lining up edges and sewed them together with a line directly down the middle(starting at the top of the denim) to create the card pockets.
After that,  I placed the right side up of one of the large denim pieces, topped with floral/denim combo piece(right side up) and topped with the other large denim piece(right side DOWN).  I left a space in the middle of the top to turn and sewed all around remaining edges.  I cut the corners for sharper corners on the outside….still tough to do with thick layers of denim.
I turned and pressed it really well.
The next step was to fold in the top edge I left open for turning and top stitch it closed.

This next photo shows where I found, on the inside under the print fabric, the middle of the wallet, to be used as the fold line and stitched through both the large denim pieces(or the outside of the wallet) from bottom to top.

sew along fold line

sew along fold line

Again I neglected to take a photo, but I did this little heart stitch pattern with my Baby Lock machine!

finished front with hearts

finished front with hearts

Inside wallet

Inside wallet

And there you have it!

An addition I thought of, if you so choose, would be to add a “tab” at one end, sewn in the seam, to wrap around and keep the wallet closed with say a velcro dot?

Happy stitching.

Jan

 

 

This entry was posted in Sewing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

